The Defense You Need Against First-Degree DWI Charges
In Minnesota, the DWI/DUI laws have varying degrees. A first-degree DWI charge is a felony level offense. If an individual has three or more alcohol-related incidents in the past decade, they will be charged with a first-degree felony DWI. Losing your license, being convicted on an alcohol-related charge or other similar offenses count as prior incidents.
Minnesota law allows a person to speak with a criminal defense attorney before they are required to take any kind of test to establish their blood alcohol content (BAC). Getting in touch with Martin Law Offices, PLLC, when you are facing severe charges, such as these mentioned, is a very smart move. Attorney Matthew Martin is ready to help you with your case right away.
A Closer Look At Felony DWI Charges
If you have been charged with a first-degree DWI offense, not only can you be imprisoned for up to seven years, but you may also have to pay a fine of up to $14,000. You may also be subject to probation or alcohol counseling. Although an alcohol evaluation would have to be done to determine exact results, there are three factors that lead to being charged with first degree DUI. You can get charged if you meet one of the following factors:
- You must have tested over .08% at the time of the arrest and have been convicted three times prior or had three alcohol-related incidents with driver’s license revocations over the past 10 years.
- You must be charged with a criminal motor vehicle operation that resulted in death.
- You must have a current DWI or been previously convicted of a felony DWI offense.
A first-degree DWI is a very serious criminal charge. Your license may be revoked as well as your license plates impounded in addition to the prison time and fines. These are considered to be felony status offenses, which are treated very severely, and there is a mandatory minimum sentencing of three years in prison. For these reasons and more, effective defense representation is critical.
Protect Your Rights And Your Future – Contact The Firm
Matthew Martin feels strongly about protecting his client’s rights and building a compelling defense case. To discuss your case with him in a free consultation, call the firm at 612-351-1787. You can also reach out online.