Minneapolis DWI Attorney
In Minnesota, the DWI/DUI laws have varying degrees. A first degree DWI charge is a felony level offense according to Minnesota drunk driving laws. If an individual has three or more alcohol-related incidents in the past decade, they will be charged with a first degree felony DWI. Losing your license from the state of Minnesota or another state, being convicted on an alcohol related charge, or other similar offenses count as prior incidents.
One thing that is important to know is that the laws in Minnesota allow a person to speak with a criminal defense attorney before they are required to take any kind of test to establish their blood alcohol content (BAC). Getting in touch with a Minneapolis DWI lawyer when you are facing severe charges, such as these mentioned, is a very smart move. A DWI lawyer from the firm will be able to help you with your case.
Defense against First Degree DWI Charges
Looking for a lawyer for a first degree DWI charge in Minneapolis? If you have been charged with a first degree DWI offense, not only can you be imprisoned for up to 7 years, you may also have to pay a fine of up to $14,000. You may also be subject to probation or alcohol counseling. Although an alcohol evaluation would have to be done to determine exact results, there are three factors in being charged with first degree DUI. They are as follows:
- You must have tested over .08% at the time of the arrest and have been convicted three times prior or had three alcohol related incidents with driver’s license revocations over the past 10 years; or
- You must be charged with a criminal motor vehicle operation that resulted in death; or
- You must have a current DWI or been previously convicted of a felony DWI offense.
Need an attorney for first degree DWI in Minneapolis, MN?
A 1st degree DWI is a very serious criminal charge. Your license may be revoked as well as your license plates impounded in addition to the prison time and fines. These are considered to be felony status offenses, which are treated very severely, and there is a mandatory minimum sentencing of 3 years in prison. It is an urgent matter to have an attorney to defend your rights and assist you in making the right choices in your criminal DWI case. Someone who has experience with the laws will be able help you efficiently. At Martin Law Offices, the attorney feels strongly about protecting his client’s rights and building a compelling defense case to fight to avoid the consequences of a conviction.
If you are facing first degree DWI charges, contact a Minneapolis DWI attorney at the firm right away.