DWI’s: When to Contact A Lawyer

DWI Explained

Driving while impaired (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) are two laws with serious repercussions in every state. Regardless of whether one’s driving was seemingly impaired or affected, it is considered a crime to drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.08%.

Crime and Punishment

According to Drivinglaws.org, the state of Minnesota has a zero tolerance for DWI and DUI’s for people under the age of 21. If a police officer stops you and suspects that you’ve been drinking, you will be asked to take a breathalyzer test to determine your blood alcohol level. Failure to pass the test can result in up to 90 days in prison, 90 day license suspension, and a $1,000 fine for first time offenders. Repeat offenders can spend up to seven years in prison, a fine of $14,000, and a license suspension of up to four years.

DWI/DUI Lawyer

According to the Star Tribune, one out of every seven licensed drivers in Minnesota has at least one DWI on their driving record. New legislation on the topic makes it clear that the state of Minnesota is “cracking down” on drivers by stiffening the penalties for mid-level DWI’s.

Being arrested for something so serious can scare you to sobriety. Even if you were blatantly drunk at the time of the arrest, keep in mind that you still have the right to an attorney and a fair trial. One of the great things about Minnesota is they have some of the most experienced attorneys who will help you fight criminal charges. It is important to have someone on your side who will explain to you what is happening and be dedicated to walking you through the process step-by-step.

If you’re in the Minneapolis area and find yourself facing criminal charges of any kind, contact the Martin Law Offices today.