Minnesota law is getting harsher regarding DWI’s, according to a recent article in the Star Tribune, since the legal blood alcohol concentration is moving from .20 to .16. This is still twice as high as the legal limit in many other states, but as the Tribune article reports, “Dropping the gross misdemeanor threshold by four percentage points may not seem like much. But a Star Tribune analysis found that it could result in nearly 3,000 more gross misdemeanor DWIs a year if the average numbers for the past few years hold — a 71 percent increase.”
Currently, the maximum DWI fine is $1,000 but come August that will go up as well, to $3,000, and the current maximum 90 days jail time will go up to a maximum one year. This is if you have had no other DWI offenses. If the offender has a record of DWI/DUI, the fines and jail time could be even higher.
Currently, one in seven of Minnesota drivers has a DWI, and controversy has crept in regarding this new law. Some say that it will save lives, while others believe that it is much too low.
After this new law takes effect, every person will be at greater risk of a Driving While Impaired accusation, but repeat offenders are most likely to be affected since they have an average BAC of .165. Keep in mind that a Minneapolis DWI Attorney can help. Contact us to find out exactly how we can help, and read our DWI/DUI page for more tips on dealing with these serious accusations.